Kilmeen & Kilbree GAA Notes 7th February 2016

Kilbree Camogie AGM

A hugely positive Kilbree camogie club AGM was held on Friday night last.

Deirdre O'Leary (secretary) welcomed everyone to the meeting. Everyone at the club wishes to thank outgoing chairperson, Claire Collins, for all of her hard work and dedication over the past number of years. Deirdre outlined the activities of the club for the year. Deirdre thanked all coaches, mentors and those that helped in any way in the smooth operation of club activities.

The U14 girls won their county group and qualified for the county quarter final, where they were unlucky to lose to Blackrock, the eventual county champions.

These girls also played a number of blitzes.

The U12 girls were thrilled to be the only West Cork club to be invited to take part in a Munster blitz in Semple stadium in April. This was followed by an even more special trip to Croke Park in July, to play in an All-Ireland blitz. The U12 girls qualified from their county group to compete in a county quarter-final against a very strong Buttevant side. Success at this stage meant they qualified for a county semi-final against Castlelyons. They were comprehensive winners and qualified for a county final against Sarsfields. They were unlucky to lose out after a replay in the county final.

The U10 group played blitzes and matches against Valley Rovers, Crosshaven, Sliabh Rua, Ballygarvan, Passage West, Courcey Rovers, Barryroe, Kilbrittain and Clonakilty. The U8's played blitzes and matches against St Colums, Enniskeane, Ballinascarthy, Kilbrittain and Barryroe.

Geraldine Twohig presented the financial report for 2015. The inclusion of fund-raising events such as the race night, fun-cycle, cake sale and clothing collection are crucial. Thanks to all members and parents that supported these events.

The following officers were elected:

Chairperson: Marie Dorgan

Secretary: Deirdre O'Leary

Tresaurer: Geraldine Twohig

PRO: Marie Dorgan

Childrens' Officer: Anna O'Neill

Team managers/coaches were elected for the year as follows:

U8

Geraldine Twohig, Geraldine O'Donovan, Margaret McCarthy, Denis O'Donovan

U10

Brendan McCarthy and Mary Roche

U12 & U14

Deirdre O'Leary, Anna O'Neill, Tony O'Neill, Aidan O'Shea and Marie Dorgan

2015 was an action packed and very successful year for the club and we look forward to 2016 with great optimism.

Lotto Results

There was no winner of this week's lotto jackpot. The numbers drawn were 26, 41 and 42. The lucky dip winners were Bertie Deasy, Padraig O'Driscoll and Elaine Daly. Next week's jackpot will be €1,700.