Kilmeen & Kilbree GAA – Club Notes 5/9/16

Carbery Junior A Hurling Champions!

Kilbree's junior hurlers have joyfully been crowned Carbery Junior A hurling champions! This was the first occasion that Kilbree have contested this final. Winning the "Flyer Nyhan" at the first time of asking both historic and incredible!

Three first half goals gave Kilbree an advantage throughout this game. Colum's never gave up and fought so hard, particularly in the second half. In wet slippy conditions in Castletownkenneigh, this was a hard fought victory. Two great goals by Damien O'Gorman set Kilbree up nicely. A Denis Dullea free from long range, slipped through Michael's Cronin's grip to provide Kilbree with a greater advantage at half time.

As expected, St Colum's came out fighting from the off, in the second half. Kilbree had to absorb serious pressure throughout. Colum's Sean O'Shea scored some fine points. The destination of the "Flyer Nyhan" was uncertain with ten minutes remaining on the clock. Kilbree lead by three points and the momentum appeared to be with St Colum's. Kilbree stalwarts Ray Collins, Kevin O'Donovan and John Clancy dug deep to ensure the silverware would be resting in Kilbree hands. Darragh Coakley and Ray Collins scored three points under considerable pressure. Kilbree finished stronger and ensured that Kilbree would be crowned champions! The final score was Kilbree 3-7 to St Colum's 0-12.

Team: Denis Dullea (1-0), Liam O'Brien, Danny Kelly, Davy O'Donovan, Kevin Keohane, Brian O'Donovan, John Clancy, Ray Collins (0-2), Darragh Coakley (0-4), Dylan Coffey, Don McCarthy (0-1), Oige Scannell, Martin O'Donovan, Damien O'Gorman (2-0) and Kevin O'Donovan. Subs introduced: Liam Daly for Martin O'Donovan, Shane O'Donovan for Oige Scannell.

U14 Camogie Carbery Champions

Kilbree U14 camogie girls were crowned Carbery champions on Wednesday evening. This has been a momentous year for Kilbree camogie club. The U12

team have already won a county title. Many of this U12 team are playing with the U14 panel. The U14's defeated Barryroe to qualify for this final. Clonakilty were the opposition on this occasion. Kilbree started strongly and had much of the possession. Goals by Aife O'Neill and Caoimhe Murphy set Kilbree up nicely. Midfield was dominated by Mairead Crowley, Leanne Sheehy and Emily O'Donovan, making it difficult for Clonakilty to break through. Outstanding defensive work by Kate O'Donovan, Cara Collins and Maeve O'Neill consolidated Kilbree's position. Sarah O'Donovan and Jessica O'Driscoll provided the Kilbree forwards with some quality ball. Kilbree were comprehensive winners on the night in Castletownkenneigh. The final score was Kilbree 5-6 to Clonakilty's 0-2. There were jubilant scenes as Gerard Corcoran presented Mairead Crowley with the cup.

Team: Heather Brimble, Jessica O'Driscoll, Kate O'Donovan, Cara Collins, Alice Twomey, Sarah O'Donovan, Maeve O'Neill, Leanne Sheehy, Emily O'Donovan, Mary Murphy, Mairead Crowley, Rebecca Hurley, Rachel Deasy, Caoimhe Murphy, Aife O'Neill, Sinead O'Sullivan, Margaret Collins, Alison Collins, Orlagh O'Neill Callanan and Niamh McCarthy.

This cohort of girls travelled to Watergrasshill on Sunday morning, to play the first round of the U14 county championship. The Kilbree girls were more skilful and were comfortable winners. They now face either Buttevant or Millstreet in the next round.

U12 Football

The U12 footballers played a challenge against Sam Maguires on Tuesday last. The Kilmeen boys and girls were comfortable winners on the night.

Team: Cillian Twohig, Caoimhe Murphy, Ethan Jennings, Oisin O'Sullivan, Brian Buttimer, Conor O'Sullivan, Joe Bailey, Ethan Buttimer, Mary Murphy, Kate O'Donovan, Micheal Keohane, Gene O'Donovan, Darragh Clancy, Daniel McCarthy, Sam Bailey and Simon Jennings.

U10 Football

The U10 footballers fielded two teams against Tadhg McCarthaigh, in Rossmore, on Friday evening. Two great matches were played, involving two equally matched sides. The skills of the Kilmeen players have developed substantially since the beginning of the season.

Team: Shane Keohane, Mark Collins, Cillian Twohig, Peter O'Sullivan, Patrick O'Donovan, Jack Hehir, Daniel McCarthy, Ben Barry, Simon Jennings, Jason Murray, Joe Barry, Fred Kelleher, Rory McCarthy, Sam Bailey, Darragh Clancy, Olan Murphy, Tim Bailey, Oisin Harrington, Colum Kennefick, Tadhg O'Brien, Shane Clancy and Rory Twohig.

Congratulations

Congratulations to Thomas Tyner who was part of the Cork U15 hurling team that won the Munster Final on Saturday. Congratulations to all club members who took part in the recent Community Games finals in Athlone, many of whom were medal winners.