### Kilmeen & Kilbree GAA Club Notes 8/10/18

# **Junior Hurling**

Brian Dillons provided the opposition in the Junior A county hurling championship quarter-final. This was a thrilling game. Kilbree made the perfect start with Don McCarthy perfectly executing scores from frees. Oige Scannell, Sean Reale and Dylan Coffey popped over scores of their own before Damien O'Gorman hit the back of the net for Kilbree. Kilbree were awarded a chance to extend their lead when they were awarded a penalty. However a save Declan Hourihan for Brian Dillons, prevented a Kilbree score. Brian Dillons had settled into the game at this stage and scores two goals of their own before half time. The dismissal of Kilbree's Sean Reale after two yellow cards was a blow for Kilbree. The half-time score was Kilbree 1-10 Brian Dillons 1-9.

The second half was a tough and tense battle. Brian Dillons won many of the individual battles in the early part of this half. However Kilbree never gave up and fought especially hard considering they were down to fourteen men. Don McCarthy's accuracy and a couple of sublime points scored by captain Dylan Coffey gave Kilbree a great chance. Donal MacSweeney stepped up to score what could have been the winning point. However Brian Dillons were awarded a free in the dying moments of the game which they duly converted. The final score was Kilbree 1-19 Brian Dillons 2-16. The replay promises to be a cracker and will be played on Saturday night, in Cloughduv at 7.30pm.

Team: Denis Dullea, Brian Keohane, Jonathan Deasy, Sean Deasy, John Clancy, Brian O'Donovan, Kevin Keohane, Dylan Coffey, Ray Collins, Darragh Coakley, Don McCarthy, Oige Scannell, Sean Reale, Damien O'Gorman and Shane Scannell.

Subs: Martin O'Donovan and Donal MacSweeney,

## Camogie

The Kilbree U16 team played Enniskeane in the Carbery camogie championship, which is run on a round robin basis. Captain Mairead Crowley took some fine

scores. There were some great displays all over the field. While the girls were on the losing side on the day, this match was wonderful preparation for the upcoming county championship quarter-final. Well done to everyone involved.

Team: Heather Brimble, Jessica O'Driscoll, Rachel Deasy, Orlagh O'Neill Callanan, Sarah O'Donovan, Kate O'Donovan, Rebecca Hurley, Mary Murphy, Emily O'Donovan, Caoimhe Murphy, Mairead Crowley, Leanne Sheehy, Aife O'Neill, Margaret Collins, Maeve O'Neill, Alison Collins, Ava Murray and Lucy Collins.

#### **U16 Football**

The U16 footballers defeated Dunmanus Rovers in the championship first round. The next round was played against Western Gaels on Sunday morning, in Newcestown. This young Kilmeen side met a much stronger Western Gaels side, who were comprehensive winners. The older members of this squad now look forward to the minor football championship replay, which will be played shortly against St Colums.

Team: Cian Murphy, Paul Lyons, Darragh Dullea, Brian Buttimer, Brian Carmody, Jack Murphy, Ethan Buttimer, Kieran O'Sullivan, Oisin O'Sullivan, Joe Bailey, Darren Scannell, Eoin O'Sullivan and Mark Keohane.

# **U 12 Football**

Fresh from their hurling success the U12's played Tadhg MacCarthaigh in Aughaville, in the U12 football cup semi-final. Kilmeen started brightly with some fine scores coming from Luka Mohan, Sam and Cillian Twohig. Kilmeen's defence stood up well to attacks from the Caheragh boys. The half time score was Kilmeen 2-8 Tadhg MacCarthaigh 1-3. Kilmeen's dominance continued in the second half. However a resurgence by Caheragh in the final quarter saw them scoring three goals in quick succession. Kilmeen were ahead for this entire match but they found themselves one point adrift with only minutes left on the clock. However Kilmeen dug deep, didn't panic and three points from Luka Mohan gave Kilmeen a two point win. The final score was Kilmeen 2-15 Tadhg MacCarthaigh 4-07. Kilmeen now play Ahan Gaels in the U12 football cup final.

Team: Ruairi O'Sullivan, Howard O'Donovan, Olan Murphy, Rory McCarthy, Tim Bailey, Sam Bailey, Daniel McCarthy, Ben Barry, Oisin Harrington, Peter

O'Sullivan, Luka Mohan, Culann Finn, Joe Barry, Cillian Twohig, Jason Murray, Mark Collins, Jack Hehir, Shane Keohane and Rory Twohig.